Call to Support Raw Milk in Iowa

We need your help to legalize direct farm-to-consumer sales of raw milk in Iowa!

HSB 585, “The Milk Bill”, would legalize sales of raw milk directly from farmers to consumers. Farmers could sell directly to consumers without being licensed by the state as long as they sold only on-farm or through delivery arrangements made directly with the consumer. HSB 585 would NOT allow re-selling or sales at grocery stores or farmers markets.

The House Judiciary Subcommittee is holding a hearing on the bill this Monday, February 13. If the subcommittee approves it, then it will go the full Committee, possibly the same week.

TAKE ACTION #1:
If you can, please come to the hearing:

WHEN: Monday, February 13, at noon
WHERE: Judiciary Room 103, Capitol Building, Des Moines, Iowa

While you are at the Capitol, please also talk with your own Representative and Senator about HSB 585, The Milk Bill

TAKE ACTION #2
If you can’t come to the hearing, please email each of the Judiciary Committee Members listed below and urge them to vote yes on the bill. A sample email is included after the list of Committee members.

TAKE ACTION #3:
Call or email your own Representative to let them know how important raw milk is to you. Ask your Representative to do everything he or she can to help move the bill forward quickly.

If you don’t know who represents you, you can find out at https://www.legis.iowa.gov/Legislators/house.aspx or by calling the Capitol Switchboard at 515-281-3221

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE MEMBERS
Richard Anderson, Chair, richard.anderson@legis.state.ia.us
Chip Baltimore, Vice Chair, chip.baltimore@legis.ia.us
Mary Wolfe, Ranking Member, mary.wolfe@legis.state.ia.us
Dwayne Alons dwayne.alons@legis.state.ia.us
Ruth Ann Gains ruthann.gains@legis.state.ia.us
Julian Garrett julian.garrett@legis.state.ia.us
Chris Hagenow chris.hagenow@legis.state.ia.us
David Heaton dave.heaton@legis.state.ia.us
Jeff Kaufman jeff.kaufman@legis.state.ia.us
Vicki Lensing vicki.lensing@legis.state.ia.us
Glen Massie glen.massie@legis.state.ia.us
Jo Oldson jo.oldson@legis.state.ia.us
Rick Olson rick.olson@legis.state.ia.us
Tyler Olson tyler.olson@legis.state.ia.us
Kim Pearson kim.pearson@legis.state.ia.us
Walt Rogers walt.rogers@legis.state.ia.us
Mark Smith mark.smith@legis.state.ia.us
Kurt Swaim kurt.swaim@legis.state.ia.us
Jeremy Taylor jeremy.taylor@legis.state.ia.us
David Tjepkes david.tjepkes@legis.state.ia.us
Beth Wessel-Kroeschell beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.state.ia.us

SAMPLE EMAIL:

Dear Representative ____________,

I urge you to vote yes on HSB 585, to legalize on-farm sales of raw milk in Iowa. Raw milk is important to me because _______________ (include a sentence or two about why you care about raw milk).

I urge you to allow Iowa citizens to make their own choices about the benefits and risks of raw milk. Please vote yes on HSB 585.

Thank you.
Name

MORE INFORMATION
Read the bill at http://coolice.legis.state.ia.us/Cool-ICE/default.asp?Category=billinfo&;Service=Billbook&menu=false&hbill=HSB585

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *